23
Aug
08

Anthem of the Taíno Resurgence: Naboria Daca Ae Mayanimacaná

What might be called the unofficial “anthem” of the Taíno indigenous resurgence is the beautiful, moving song by Juan Luis Guerra of the Dominican Republic, sung in the Taíno language, titled Naboria Daca Ae Mayanimacaná. The song comes from his 1992 album, Areito, which refers to Taíno dance, an album that featured a number of anti-colonial and anti-capitalist hits, earning it the distinction of being banned in several countries that were fearful of publicizing music with allegedly “anti-American” messages (just in case there was anyone left who still maintained the illusion that empire and democracy can go hand in hand).

The words (courtesy of Guacara Dreamtime) follow the song, I added the English translation in place of the Spanish translation.

Taíno lyrics:

Naboria daca ae
mayanimacaná
naboria daca
guaitiao
mayanimacaná
naboria daca eo

Naboria daca ae
naboria daca eo
a mayanimacaná
naboria daca ae
naboria daca eo
a mayanimacaná
naboria daca ae
naboria daca eo

naboria daca eo
naboria daca eo
mayani mayanimacaná
naboria daca eo
naboria daca eo

Calichi
guarico guakía
calichi
guariquén
machichi
mayanimacaná
machichi
yu
peiti
ris
Naboria daca, mayanimacaná, mayanimacaná,
mayanimacaná!
naboria daca eo

machichi
mayanimacaná
machichi
yu
peiti
ris
Naboria daca, mayanimacaná, mayanimacaná,
mayanimacaná!
naboria daca eo

English lyrics:

I am a servant
don’t kill me
I am a servant
your blood brother
don’t kill me
I am a servant
I am a servant
don’t kill me
I am a servant
Stream from the high mounatin
Come to us
Stream from the high mounatin
Look, come and see
my heart
don’t kill me
my heart
white
black
red
I am a servant
don’t kill me,
don’t kill me
don’t kill me!

1D4TW

EVERY DAY FUH T'IEF,
ONE DAY FUH WATCHMAN

feed de devil



FOLLOW ME ON

FOLLOW ME ON

FOLLOW ME ON

kalinda

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

ENEMY

de ark-hive

STATE

JUMBIE ON THE WALL

top spirit blows

GOOD PEOPLE

FIST

EYE

allyuh can borrow but yuh cyar steal or sell de t’ing

Creative Commons License

pay de devil

trinidad street graffiti images courtesy of thumbprints.co.tt; all other photos courtesy of caribbeanfreephoto, under Creative Commons licenses.

BLUE DEVIL RED WALL

allyuh care about is numba

  • 44,185 hits since long time, nah

CARIBBEAN GRUNGE

subscribe by email

Progressive Bloggers


